Girl meets world.

Here it is. My first blog post. I always said I’d start a blog, but now I’m faced with the white empty page it doesn’t seem so straightforward.

I guess I’ll start with a little bit about myself.

My name’s Bernadette. I’m in my early twenties and I write music. I love music. I love writing music and I love writing about music. To some extent I love writing about people who write about music, but only because it’s a bit Inception-y. In particular, I love pop music because I think it most accurately reflects the culture of a certain time and place. Want to know about a society’s values? Look at its pop music.
I like singing and lyric-writing. I especially like performing my own music/lyrics but session work is still one of my favourite things to do. I primarily write music with my best friend Mike.

I have three siblings and two parents. I’m from the North of England. I use that general term because I’ve never really felt at home anywhere. I spent two years living out of suitcases and even though I’m more settled now I still have a rambling mindset. I’m 5’4 with short dark hair and blue eyes. I weigh about 9st and the fact I don’t weight 8st 5 makes me sadder than I’d like to admit. But not sad enough to start eating more vegetables and less cake. Where’s the fun in that.

I’m recovering from depression and anxiety and some days are a lot better than others. I’ve written an album about it. I find feeding the ducks helps, as does hanging with my homies. I’m an introvert. I don’t have many friends but the ones I do have are fucking incredible.
So. On this blog I’ll tell you about the musical things I’m doing. I’ll introduce you to new music. I’ll ramble about pop music and intersectionality. If I’m feeling brave I might even talk to you about how I cope with the dark place of depression. If any of that sounds interesting subscribe and stuff. Drop me a line, even.

Photo by Everthine Photography

2 Comments

  1. Sarah Shahid

    I would like to know more.I can identify with you with regards to your mental health. I live with Bi-polar, anxiety, PTSD, voices, paranoia and a whole host of other things. Some days are better than others. Some days the black dog is too much for me and i struggle with controlling him, along with my voices etc. Still i manage the best i can with everything along with judgemental, selfish people. I find going to the park helps as i feel recharged there, along with being with my friends who truly care about me, doing the work i do, supporting others, and my Counselling studies 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing Sarah, I’m glad you have things that make you feel better 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

